Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ruthie tutors in Washington, DC

Ruthie F.

Private tutor in Washington, DC


Hello there! I am an incoming senior at Catholic University in Washington DC pursuing an anthropology degree with a philosophy minor. My research interests include anthropology of religion and consciousness, with an emphasis on the Catholic Church and Western phenomenology. I have maintained a high 3.7 throughout college, and I am on the Dean's List as of 2018.


I have been tutoring since high school on a freelance basis for students struggling with essay-writing and editing. I took and passed AP Lit and Comp as well as AP Lang in high school, I got a 4 on the former and a 5 on the latter. I briefly worked with Jumpstart! my freshmen year of college, and additionally worked as an child educator at the San Diego Museum of Man in San Diego, California. Those experiences lead me to become a full-time intern for a DC nonprofit called Archaeology in the Community, where I developed and taught classes focusing on topics in archaeology to charter school kids in the DC area every Sunday for 6 months. I absolutely love sharing knowledge with kids, who have given me more insights into my own academic field than my college professors! I went on to become a contributor on the This Anthro Life podcast, which seeks to bring anthropological research to the public in creative ways, and I have successfully published two podcasts having to do with research on my own on two separate platforms. This summer I was briefly working for the Biblical Archaeology Society as an editor for their blog. My most recent writing project has been selected to be presented at the Anthropological Association of America Conference in San Jose, CA this Fall. Nonetheless, my greatest interest is in communicating and cooperating with those who are willing to learn, hone their skills in writing, thinking, and analyzing. I loved high school history classes, writing, and reading, and I aim to help your student find the joy in these challenging classes.


Saturday at any time, Monday in the morning, Tues/Thurs after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge


When I'm not geeking out with my fellow anthropology majors, I teach yoga part time at Vida Fitness and on campus at GW. This is also a major passion of mine, and leading yoga classes have certainly cultivated a level of confidence that I plan on bringing into the tutoring sessions. I love the arts, music, theatre--I in fact went into undergrad as a theatre major. I have a giant soft spot for musicals and dance.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!