Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ryan tutors in Washington, DC

Ryan J.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

5Ryan J.

1 review

Education

PhD, University of Virginia, GPA: 3.9 -Reacting Fluid Dynamics -Extremely math intensive -Computer Code Development -I have been published in several high impact journals College: University of Virginia: GPA: 3.561 Major: Aerospace Engineering Minor: Applied Mathematics Took over 20 credits of music classes (A's in all of those)

Experience

I taught Partial Differential Equations, the highest and hardest math class for Engineers, for two years at the University of Virginia. I achieved 4.75/5.00 on total course evaluations, beating the median score for the Engineering department by 2 standard deviations. I can provide these evaluations upon request. Normally, students do not teach such a high level class, but I had strong background this subject for 4 years. I have tutored in Partial Differential Equations (highest level undergrad mathematics), Fluid Dynamics I and II (science based course on the physics of fluids), College level physics I and II, and statistics. I took over 130 credits in Undergraduate Engineering classes, focusing on applied mathematics and fluid dynamics. Through these experiences I can provide real world examples to almost any math and physics problem. SAT-800 math, 720 verbal, GRE-800 math 600-verbal I like to tutor/teach because I enjoy connecting with students and sharing ideas for various approaches to understanding hard, yet realistic, problems. There is no greater feeling than seeing a student become familiar with a subject, and, in some cases, move to a mastery of the subject.

Availability

Weekends in the morning, Any day after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Guitar, Singing, Running, Boating, Biking, Baseball. I have country roots but enjoy city living. I read for pleasure. I enjoy most blockbuster movies. If the client enjoys humor, I tend to be able to make make Simpsons/South Park references enough to make my students laugh with me.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!