Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Kirsten tutors in Washington, DC

Kirsten M.

Private tutor in Washington, DC


1) Graduated summa cum laude (4.0 GPA) with a B.A. in English and Art History from the University of Alabama 2) First-year graduate student seeking an M.A. in Art History from George Washington University; will begin classes in August 2012


*Scored 32 on ACT *Scored 2050 on SAT *Scored 4 on AP Chemistry test *Scored 5 on AP Art History test *Scored 5 on AP English Literature Test *Earned Presidential Scholarship from the University of Alabama (4 years, full tuition) *Graduated summa cum laude and with a 4.0 GPA *Received Presidential Scholarship for 4 years (full tuition) *Received Zurich North America Scholarship *Received Robert C. Byrd Scholarship *Graduated with University Honors and International Honors *Member of Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society *Granted scholarship funds to study art history abroad at Florence University of the Arts, Florence, Italy (Spring 2011) *Visited 16 European countries during my semester abroad *Fluent in Italian language, proficient in French *Promotions Coordinator (Officer) of Sigma Tau Delta, Phi Xi Chapter *Made President’s List all 8 semesters *Have previously tutored informally for friends, classmates, and younger siblings *I am especially proficient at writing/essaying skills - I very often work with classmates, siblings, parents, and sometimes even professors on their essays or writing assignments, from correcting syntax and grammar to helping form strong, cogent arguments *I would love to be a tutor to any child aged 5-18 because I know that I can utilize my academic prowess to help children do the best they can in school. I work very well with children, especially preteens and teenagers, and have previously worked as a sleep-away camp counselor during my summers. I have excellent academic credentials in many subjects and am very confident in my ability to teach and guide pupils. I love learning and love to see others, especially children, find the joy in learning and achieving their academic goals. Professional experience: Gorgas Library Government Documents Department August 2011-December 2011 Student Assistant Duties: Opening and processing weekly shipments of government documents, shelving documents, assisting library patrons in finding documents, repairing documents, reorganizing and relabeling old documents, entering records into electronic databases, making copies, performing tasks for my employer. Employer: Mary Ann Robbins, Government Documents- Reason for leaving: Budget cuts/department overhaul Pendola Center, Diocese of Sacramento Jun. 2009-Aug. 2009; Jun 2010-Aug. 2010 Camp Counselor (2009) CIT Coordinator (2010) Duties: 2009: Supervising and entertaining young children at an overnight camp, mentoring young girls, teaching children a variety of activities (Arts & Crafts, Archery, Outdoor Living Skills, Nature, etc.), leading overnight campouts, teaching children camping skills, lifeguarding, receiving First Aid/CPR certification, preparing meals and doing dishes in the kitchen, setting up and cleaning up the camp at the beginning and end of the summer, performing office tasks for my employer. 2010: Same as above, with added responsibility of teaching/mentoring 16 and 17 year-old campers aforementioned counselor skills. Employer: Lori Rosene, Camp Director- (530)-288-3263; Reason for leaving: Camp season ended. Gorgas Library Acquisitions Department, Univ. of Alabama Jan. 2009-April 2011 Student Assistant Duties: Opening weekly shipments of books, checking new books for printing imperfections, filing invoices and other documents, entering records into electronic databases, making copies, performing other office tasks for my employer. Employer: Fran Jecen, Acquisitions Student Supervisor- Reason for leaving: Budget cuts / transfer to related Government Documents department


Weekdays in the morning, Weekends at any time, Tues/Thurs after 5PM, Wednesday after 5PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge


Hobbies: reading, visiting museums, writing, traveling, cooking, working on puzzles (of either the jigsaw or crossword variety), improving my French and Italian language skills, spending time with friends Interests: art history, children, great American novels, college football (Roll Tide!), the great outdoors, dogs, cats, Aaron Sorkin television, comedies, learning about new cultures, getting to know the DC area, good food

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!