Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Washington, DC

Jessica H.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

5Jessica H.

2 reviews

Education

I am a graduate from the University of Virginia with a major in Chemical Engineering, and a minor in Physics. I have a 3.5 GPA, and I graduated second in my high school class with final GPA of about a 4.6. I currently work in IT as a computer technician and am working on getting A+ and Network+ certified.

Experience

Most of my tutoring experience has been amongst my classmates. I typically have a deep understanding of the material being studied and a strong imagination so I am able to express concepts in a way that meet a variety of learning styles. I also acted as a tutor for the National Honor Society at my high school. I have tutored in Chemistry I and II, Physics, Biology, Environmental Sciences, Pre-Calc, Calculus I and II, Algebra I and II, Geometry, Statistics, Differential Equations, U.S. History, European History, English (I am particularly good at editing essays), French, Psychology and Microeconomics, all of which are courses that I have taken as AP, Honors, or College Courses and in which I have received straight A's. SAT Scores: MATH:760 Critical Reading:730 Writing:730 SAT II: U.S. History: 790 Biology (Environmental): 730 AP Scores: U.S. History:5 Biology:5 Microeconomics: 5 Psychology: 5 Statistics: 4 French Language: 4 English Language: 4 In high school, I took seven A.P. courses and twelve Honors courses, and I never received anything less than a straight A in any academic course. I love to tutor because not only is teaching itself the best way to fully understand something, but understanding is the greatest gift that can be given to a person. I am completely passionate about all subjects that I study and I believe that learning increases our love for the world. I have received a variety of awards, such as the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence all four years of high school, 5 French Awards for the Department and National Exams, the D.A.R Award for U.S. History, the Brown University Book Award for English Language, 2 National Merit Awards for the SATs, the Psychology Department Award, a Geometry Award, a Microeconomics Award, the Silver Cord for over 40 hours of Community Service each year, and I have been recognized as an A.P. Scholar with Distinction. Moreover, I have had a variety of experiences giving presentations. Other than typical classroom presentations and plays, I gave a 30 minute presentation on World War II regarding the question "what causes conflict?" to a panel of judges my Sophemore year in high school. I also gave speeches at my graduation ceremony and as a guest speaker at an awards night for another school. Furthermore, I have been recognized three times for high scores on the National French Examination, once for my performance on a Regional Trigstar Surveying Examination, and I was the Leader of an Engineering group recognized for its in-depth research for a Federal Aviation Administration Design Competition during my first year of college. Since being out of college, I have worked for the tutoring company, Educational Connections, and also for Best Academy, teaching most of the same subjects.

Availability

Friday after 6PM, Wednesday after 6PM, Tuesday after 6PM, Monday after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Most people who know me would say that I have a very easy-going, yet goal-oriented personality. I am able to direct my focus on my priorities and also to foreshadow weaknesses so that I may work around them. I am not easily frustrated and am considered to be very patient, while I am often able to perceive subtle flaws in a person's thinking and to correct them. Throughout my life I have had a wide variety of interests and hobbies. I have always been an avid reader and spent at least an hour a day exercising. In high school, I was a three sport athlete, playing field hockey, basketball and varsity softball my freshman year, and switching over to a hip-hop dance team and varsity track thereafter. I have played minor leadership roles in most of these sports, directing team work outs and choreographing for my dance team. There have been four dance teams of which I have been a member, which involved folk dance, jazz dancing, cheer, and hip-hop, while I have also taken private interest in swing and belly-dancing. I have performed at regional competitions, the Basketball Hall of Fame, and at a Boston Celtic's pre-game show, while I have also taken part in a variety of parades for these teams. I have taken part in a variety of community service activities, as I was a volunteer Intern for a Cape Cod Baseball League Team and a Tutor for the National Honor Society. As for my more creative endeavors, I am a natural artist and have taken course in Sculpture/Wheel Throwing, Woodworking, Art Metal and Photography. I have also spend some of my free time drawing fashion designs and what I see in the world around me.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!