Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Washington, DC

Jessica U.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Cornell University - BA, Chemistry , Georgetown University - PhD, Chemistry

Experience

Though I've pursued higher ed and a professional career in the sciences, when I was young, I found science to be unrelatable to my life, and a dreadful source of intimidation and worry. I understand now that early education in science completely misses the mark in communicating the wonder, excitement, and creativity that is undoubtedly wrapped up in the subject. Young students are fearful and disenchanted by science, when it's actually full of magic, vibrancy, color, and fun. I attended Cornell University, where I received my B.A. in Chemistry. During my time at Georgetown University in pursuance of my PhD (also in Chemistry), I developed and carried out a series of demos as a way to make scientific concepts both interesting and relevant to participants. I've worked as a Chemistry tutor and assistant teacher, and have brought a similar ethic to that work. I've worked with high school and college students to understand many levels of Chemistry (Physical, General, Organic, Food). Throughout my ten years of science-related educating, I've come to understand that each individual has their own particular learning objectives, styles, and strong points, and it is the teacher's responsibility to speak to each of these areas in an attentive and specific way. It's a tall order, but students aren't going to retain the intricacies of Chemistry by memorization alone. My personal research is concerned with secondary explosives, solid state chemistry, semiconductor projects, and pharmaceuticals. When I'm not working, I like to curl up with a book and run all around the Washington DC area.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I can generally be found running around DC or curling up with a good book.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!