Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Nathan tutors in Washington, DC

Nathan H.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

University of Central Florida - BS, Mechanical Engineering , Emory University - MS Clinical Research, Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus - MS & PhD, Biomedical Engineering,

Experience

While obtaining my PhD I taught lectures in the Capstone Design course at Georgia Institute of Technology in the biomedical engineering department and helped form the first multi-disciplinary senior/capstone design (mechanical, electrical, andand biomedical engineering) course at Georgia Tech. I have published an education paper on the outcomes from this course and have been tutoring students from freshmen to senior undergraduate level in various engineering and math courses since 2007. During my education I received minors in chemistry and math from the University of Central Florida. During my PhD work I also obtained two masters degrees in material science engineering and in clinical research. I received 5's on my AP biology, AP chemistry, and AP calculus tests, a 790/800 on the quantitative portion of the GRE and a 660/800 on the qualitative/verbal. I have taken more than 30 college/graduate level engineering courses and over 12 college/graduate level math courses. The engineering courses and my time in teaching capstone design, have given me a unique ability to be able to show real world examples of where complex and simple math are used in the real world. Additionally, my clinical research masters degree gave me a high proficiency in statistics and biostatistics for use in designing and implementing human medical device clinical trials. I have a passion for education and am currently in a post doctoral research position in which I do not have any teaching responsibilities. However, my ultimate goal is to become a tenure track professor and thus I would like to keep my teaching skills sharp.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I have always tried to balance my approach to education and my personal life. For example, in high school I was a varsity football, soccer, track, and weightlifting team member. I was also a Heisman Scholar Athlete for my state. However, I was also an officer in my school's Latin club, Academic team, and Health Occupation club. I graduated 2nd in my class of 500 and I also did volunteer work at the local hospital and for Habitat for Humanity. In college/graduate school I no longer participated in official collegiate sports but continued playing on Men's soccer, rugby, kayaking, and rock climbing clubs. I love the outdoors and often go hiking on nice weekends. I was able to do these activities while doing research initially in nuclear diffusion and later in the immune response to implanted materials, such as knees and hip implants, to try to limit implant failure. Currently, I am working as a full time researcher trying to develop a therapy for macular degeneration and still stay active with mens' soccer teams and rock climbing.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!