Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Greg tutors in Washington, DC

Greg P.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Swarthmore College - BA, Political Science, 2010 Georgetown University - BA Candidate in Government with concentration in Comparative Government, 2006-2008 St. Stephen's and St. Agnes School, class of 2006 Instructor certification, District of Columbia Public Schools

Experience

I have been a professional tutor for over six years, and have been ranked the number-one ranked tutor nationwide on multiple occasions at my previous tutoring company. I had little idea when I began tutoring professionally soon out of college that the job would become such a passion. From my first lessons, though, I found that the experience of connecting with students and seeing what a crucial impact one-on-one teaching could make was an immensely satisfying one. I have had the distinct pleasure of seeing my students attend their dream schools, from boarding schools through Ivy League universities, and knowing that the tutoring I provided was an important element in their success. My core focus has been on test preparation, mainly for the SAT, ACT, SSAT, and ISEE, though I have worked with students on a range of other topics, including AP exams, SAT subject tests, college essays, and academic paper consultation. I tutored full-time for a year before beginning a career in international development, but I continued my tutoring career at the same time because I found the work so rewarding. My work as a tutor is much more than just a job to me; I keep doing it because I love it. My schedule allows me some breaks and flexibility, and I am currently available full-time on weekdays with the option of some Saturday sessions. I am available for tutoring year-round.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Saturday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love working with kids and young adults in a wide age range, and have tutored everyone from second-graders through working adults who are going back to school. I strive to be a very patient, approachable, and friendly tutor, and I am careful to create a low-pressure and supportive environment for my students. When I'm not tutoring, I love to spend time in the kitchen preparing some interesting new dish, ride my bike around DC, or see live theater.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!