Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Katie tutors in Washington, DC

Katie D.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Graduated May 2013 with a B.S. in Biological Sciences from the University of Maryland College Park Currently a M.A.T. Science Secondary Education candidate at American University through the Lab2Class Program

Experience

2100/2400 (1420/1600) on the SAT, 5 on the AP Calculus BC, AP Biology, and AP Statistics exams Genetics, Cell Biology, Microbiology, Principles of Biology I, II, and III, General Chemisty I and II, Organic Chemistry I and II at the University level I am currently student teaching at a middle school science classroom in Washington, DC. In the past, I have been a student assistant in a middle school science classroom in Greenbelt, MD, and a student intern in a high school science classroom in Hyattsville, MD. I have been a TA for Johns Hopkins' Center for Talented Youth for Biotechnology and Genetics as well as a Tutor in Chemistry, Biology, Algebra, Statistics, and Geometry for the Upward Bound program at the University of Maryland. I worked with high school students for both programs. I have worked as a volunteer at local elementary schools where I assist students with homework and I worked at a summer camp with elementary school children. I love working with children and have wanted to be a teacher for most of my life. I am currently studying to become a certified science teacher. I feel most comfortable tutoring middle school and high school science and math.

Availability

Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Although I do not play anymore, I played field hockey and lacrosse in high school and grew up playing several other sports such as soccer, basketball, softball, and swimming. I am from the Philadelphia area so of course I'm a Phillies fan.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!