Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Laura tutors in Washington, DC

Laura E.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

University of the District of Columbia: Non-Degree, Premedical Studies (2015-Present) University of Portland: BA in English, Psychology minor (2012)

Experience

Hello wonderful students and parents! My name is Laura and I am very excited about the possibility of working with you/your child. I have several years of tutoring experience, both paid and unpaid. I have tutored children as young as elementary school all the way up to college. I am a 2012 graduate of the University of Portland, where I received my BA in English with a minor in psychology. During my last two years there, I worked as a Writing Assistant at the Writing Center, where I assisted students with papers in English, history, theology, philosophy, communication, education, nursing, business and biology. Besides assisting college students with papers, I have also tutored reading, writing, history, study skills, and math (up to pre-algebra) to students in grades 3-12. In addition to tutoring, I was also a teacher for two years here in DC. I taught reading to middle school students at an all boys Catholic school, and was a substitute for DC Public Schools. As a sub, I mostly taught middle and high school English and history. During that time I had two long term assignments: 8th grade English and history at two local schools. Not too long after finishing my assignment at SWWFS, I developed a passion for medicine. I take classes part time at the University of the District of Columbia to fulfill science course requirements for medical school. I also work two days a week as a medical assistant at a cosmetic surgeon's office and babysit children of all ages for various families on an as needed basis. In addition to my studies and work, I tutor students at Seaton Elementary (affiliated with Reading Partners) 1-2 times a month. I plan to apply to medical school in 2016 with hopes of beginning my studies in 2017. ***FOR DC STUDENTS/FAMILIES: See below for my travel policy.*** Unfortunately, I do not have a car so we would need to meet somewhere that is no more than a 35 minute commute by metro. I can meet in the following neighborhoods in DC, VA, or MD. DC: Foggy Bottom, Georgetown, Woodley Park, Cleveland Park, Van Ness/UDC, Tenleytown, Farragut Square, Dupont Circle, Metro Center, Gallery Place/Chinatown, McPhereson Square, Capitol Hill, Shaw/Howard, U Street, Columbia Heights VA: Rosslyn, Courthouse, Clarendon, Ballston MD: Chevy Chase/Friendship Heights Thank you for checking out my profile and please do not hesitate to contact me with further questions. I look forward to hearing from you soon! Best, Laura

Availability

Sunday after 12 Noon, Monday after 9AM, Tuesday after 9AM, Wednesday after 9AM, Thursday after 9AM, Friday after 1PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

In my spare time, I enjoy cooking, music, photography, medicine, travel.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!