Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tania tutors in Washington, DC

Tania C.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Graduate; Barrett, the Honors College at Arizona State University -- Summa Cum Laude (3.95 GPA); B.A. in Political Science, minors in European History and Italian, concentration in International Studies.

Experience

Hello! I am a recent graduate of Arizona State University living in DC and working full-time as the Executive Assistant at the American Society of International Law. I have many years of tutoring experience -- I got my first tutoring job when I was 11 years old -- and have worked with many students of all ages since then, through my senior year of college. My primary area of expertise is in reading- and writing-based subjects including literature, language arts, social studies, English, history, and other more specialized courses. I am also interested in tutoring younger ages/grades beginning reading, writing, and math skills, as well as study and organizational skills for all ages. I am also willing to provide constructive feedback (such as editing for grammar, mechanics, and clarity of ideas -- I will not write essays for students) on essays online or in-person for a reduced cost if editing, but not tutoring, is needed. As someone who received extensive math tutoring in high school, I understand the challenges that not understanding material can present in class, and the impact that the resulting frustration can have on your self-confidence and overall academic success. I am grateful to the teachers, students, and mentors who took the time to help me understand the material I struggled with, and hope to help other students in the same way. In college, I also interned at the Holocaust Museum in DC twice, worked at the Arizona State Senate, and founded a political activist organization at ASU. I live in Foggy Bottom and prefer to tutor in the downtown DC area, though I am flexible in both schedule and location. I do reserve the right to charge additional cost if I have to travel excessively/incur high Metro costs to reach you, but I will always discuss this with you in advance based on your individual situation. I also prefer to tutor on weekends because I work full-time during the week, but depending on the day/time, I can try to work something out with you.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Although I work and study hard, I am outgoing, friendly, and always enjoy a good joke. In my spare time, I love to go to concerts and museums, run, try new restaurants, shop, and do anything with friends. I also love meeting new people, and hope to meet you or your son/daughter soon.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!