Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Gene Patrick tutors in Washington, DC

Gene Patrick G.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Johns Hopkins University - BA, Chemistry

Experience

I graduated with a degree in Chemistry from Johns Hopkins University, and it was during my college experience that I began working as a tutor. During my undergraduate years, I assisted people with Intro Chemistry and Organic Chemistry classes. I also worked through a program called Tutorial Project, which paired me as a tutor with a third grade student working on ELA and Mathematics. Ultimately, I oversaw tutoring for several students. I later became involved with the Center for Talented Youth, where I worked as a TA for Chemistry. During my time as a TA, I created and taught the program for the Organic Chemistry section, as well as for class demonstrations and lab sessions. I have also recently finished with a year of working with an AmeriCorps program called City Year Washington DC, where my fellow tutors and I worked with students in elementary through high schools. I worked with 1st grade students in Mathematics and ELA classes, helping them to perform at grade level. I also helped the project leaders with their Mathematics lesson plans and assisted the school to design Math initiatives. I am available to tutor a variety of subjects, especially Mathematics (Elementary Math, Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1 and 2, Geometry, Pre-Calculus, Calculus, and AP Calculus AB), Physical and Life Science (Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, and Ecology), and English (Reading, Phonics). I am also familiar with many test preparation methods, and I can assist with tests such as the PARCC. In my personal time, I continue to work for City Year DC as a Project Leader. I also enjoy playing guitar, working with photography, and break-dancing.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

10 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Guitar, photography, break-dancing

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!