Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matthew tutors in Washington, DC

Matthew B.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

Yale University, New Haven, CT Ph.D. in Geology 2012 Yale University, New Haven, CT M.Phil. in Geology 2004 Carleton College, Northfield, MN B.A. in Sociology/Anthropology, Cum laude 2000

Experience

I am an evolutionary biologist and paleontologist who has been active in the field for over a decade. I have been a professor of college-level biology, paleontology, and anatomy for 8 years on top of 5 years assistant teaching geology courses during my graduate education. I have a broad, interdisciplinary background, which is a result of my broad curiosity about the scientific exploration of all aspects of the natural world. I have had the opportunity to teach at several different types of schools, including Ivy League and small liberal arts colleges (see list below), where I have had a lot of exposure to pedagogical methods that encourage permanent understanding and maintain interest. I have taken the opportunity to participate in several teaching workshops, which have helped me develop and hone my skills as an educator. TEACHING STYLE My teaching style varies, depending on what the individual student needs, but it is always driven by an enthusiasm and verve for education (particularly in science) that I have been told is infectious (not a great thing to say to a biologist, but it's the thought that counts). Learning is most effective when the learner understands the importance of the material to their interests and the world around them. As such, one of my priorities when teaching is finding the relevance of the subject to the student and examining the concepts in the student's context. I tend to shy away from rote memorization, preferring active learning techniques and exercises that develop critical thinking skills, but I am flexible, depending on the student's abilities and response. TEACHING EXPERIENCE Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH Visiting Assistant Professor – Department of Biology Claremont Colleges, Claremont, CA Visiting Instructor – W.M. Keck Science Department 2008-2012 Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, MI Visiting Instructor – Department of Biology 2007-2008 Yale University, New Haven, CT Teaching Fellow 2003-2007 COURSES TAUGHT Evolution and Ecology Evolution and Genetics Evolution, Ecology, and Genetics Global Environmental Change Independent Research (Evolutionary Biology) Introductory Biology Marine Ecology (guest lectures) Natural Hazards Organismal Biology (focus on Plant and Animal Physiology) Paleontology and Evolutionary Theory Principles of Paleontology Religion and Science Research Tools for Organismal Biology The History of Life Vertebrate Anatomy Vertebrate Biology Vertebrate Structure and Evolution

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I am an active person who loves anything to do with nature, sports, or the outdoors. The list below is just a sampling of the types of activities that I have enjoyed in those realms. SAMPLING OF HOBBIES Astronomy, Camping, Canoeing, Decathlon, Field Hockey, Football, Forestry and Forest Restoration, Floral and Faunal Identification, Gardening, Hiking, Landscaping and Ecosystem Restoration, Open Water Swimming, Rock Climbing, Rugby, Sailing, Soccer, Tennis, Trail Restoration, Trail Running, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, and others. However, I also appreciate many different forms of art and literature, particularly film and live theater. While I am musically undeveloped, I do enjoy many genres of music and have often learned a great deal about my students by seeing them perform in recitals and concerts. I am inherently curious about people’s passions and pursuits, and I look for opportunities to hear about new and different hobbies that I can explore.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!