Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Samantha tutors in Washington, DC

Samantha P.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

5Samantha P.

275 reviews

Education

Brown University - Bachelors, 1. International and Comparative Political Science 2. Economics , Johns Hopkins University-Schools of Advanced International Studies - Current Grad Student, 1. Conflict Management 2. International Economics

Experience

Hailing from Washington, D.C., I earned my bachelor's degree at Brown University in international and comparative political science and economics. I'm currently working on my master's degree in international relations at Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. When it comes to my tutoring background, I cultivated my experience from opportunities, such as serving as a peer mentor in college and coaching an elementary school Science Olympiad team. I keep my approach to tutoring simple and consistent, no matter what the subject. My goal is to discover what each student responds best to in learning new material. Then, I strive toward marked improvements with his or her learning - inside and outside of the classroom. Tutoring gives me a feeling of accomplishment. This is especially evident when I see students live up to their full potential, gaining confidence and self-assurance along the way. That fulfillment is particularly near and dear to me when teaching French. I have personally struggled with the notion of learning a foreign language. As a child, I had a speech impediment and went through speech therapy to address it, so I'm very aware of how scary it can be to take on a foreign language. I'm living proof that with hard work and dedication, students can overcome their fears. I not only learned French, but I have taken it steps further to go on to use it while communicating with foreign government officials at a job I held recently. I even translated for a Parliament member for a stint. In my spare time, I enjoy hiking and international relations.   

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

international relations, hiking

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!