Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Meenakshi tutors in Washington, DC

Meenakshi V.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

4Meenakshi V.

2 reviews

Education

Emory University - Bachelors, Biology , Loyola Marymount University (MA already received); Johns Hopkins University (MS in progress) - Current Grad Student, Master of Arts in Urban Education; Master of Science in Biotechnology (in progress)

Experience

I attended Emory University, where I studied Biology and received my Bachelor of Science, minoring in Interdisciplinary Studies. I received my M.A. in Education from Loyola Marymount University, and I am currently pursuing a second master's degree in Biotechnology from Johns Hopkins University. I'm well-suited to work with students in middle school and high school in subjects like Algebra, Arithmetic, Biology, Microbiology, Physical Science, etc. I have worked teaching science to the seventh and eighth grade, and I have also tutored for a number of years, mainly in the fields of Mathematics and Science. I also feel comfortable working with students in English, Writing, Public Speaking, general homework support, study skills, and college essay-writing. I've been told by former students that I'm great at making subjects like Science seem less complicated, more understandable, and relevant. I make sure to stress a sense of wonder in the Sciences. I'm confident that all students have a large capacity for learning and comprehension. I enjoy helping students develop better organizing and scheduling skills for themselves, so as to make studying and coursework easier. I believe in helping students with the specifics of a course, as well as becoming a better student in general. I enjoy coaching, playing volleyball, reading, and trying new foods.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Coaching and playing competitive volleyball, reading, trying new foods (I've especially mastered this hobby)

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!