Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jacob tutors in Washington, DC

Jacob C.

Private tutor in Washington, DC

Education

University of Michigan class of 2015. Studied Biophysics and Philosophy. Graduated with High Honors and Distinction. Cumulative GPA of 3.8. Current medical student at Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Experience

I enjoy tutoring; I love seeing the "light bulb" turn on in students minds. I find it meaningful to make a difference in students lives by helping them learn and achieve their educational goals. I aim to improve student's learning experiences by tailoring tutoring sessions to their specific needs, difficulties, and talents. I believe that every student is talented and that for some the classroom setting is simply not the best environment for their potential to be unlocked. I hope to unlock students potentials in a one-on-one tutoring environment. My main goals for my tutoring environment are for it to be a safe and positive atmosphere and one in which students are comfortable explaining their challenges to me. I focus on active learning with students. The more they are actively pushing themselves to understand and practice material, the more they will learn. I create an environment in which I challenge them to do this, of course with my guidance. I also provide students direction for studying when they are away from me. Feel free to contact me if you are seeking help! I am flexible and willing to work with all kinds of students.

Availability

Weekdays after 10AM, Sunday after 12 Noon, Saturday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am a University of Michigan Biophysics student from Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan. I love learning new things, especially physics. In addition to academics I really enjoy running and biking. Other things I like are my dog, Sparky, card games, especially poker, basketball, skiing, and U of M football.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!